Some of you may have read that trace amounts of radiation have been found this last week in Vancouver's rainwater from Japan's disaster. It is minute and nothing to worry about at this point, so we think mom is being overly cautious. She and dad goes out all the time and allow themselves to be in rainwater, but we are not allowed. Talk about inequality.
While the experts say the amounts are so little that people get more even from doing their normal day-to-day activities, it has also been noted that there is no 'safe' level or threshold. In other words, the less, the better. Mom is thinking if we don't HAVE to be exposed to it, why should we? Maybe she should speak for herself, too. Keep in mind this is the same woman who doesn't let us sleep near cell phones or use the microwave to heat up our food.
Anyway, since I am trained to go potty on both pee pads and outside, mom has resorted to making me use pee pads exclusively until tests show that the radiation level isn't getting worse and that the half-life has been reached. For iodine-131, the half-life is only 8 days, thank dog!
Since I have been 'exposed' already, she has some natural supplements on order for us to take. Yeah, I know...
Meanwhile, we can still go for car rides and stuff as long as we don't get wet. This means my walkies have been cut, too!
(Mom: Thankfully, she is just as happy to be inside snuggling with me as she is outside for walks. Another plus for Chis.)
I am thinking of taking up yoga to kill some time.
Tofu is being lazy as usual.
When do you think this torture is going to be over? Why does it have to rain so much here?!
Love,
Jemma & Tofu